Resolution Time

With the new year here it only makes sense to talk a little about resolutions!! 

I know we all typically make them, and then after the excitement and hype of January is gone we seem to forget those things we’ve resolved to do! 

What I have done in past years is set out specific things I want to do. For instance instead of saying I want to read more, I’ve set out an actual number, last year I wanted to read 13 books, and for those wondering, I did! Plus add on 4 audio books. This year I am upping the anti and want to read 16 books, and I will add 5 audio books! 

My fitness goals are pretty specific too. “Be healthy” is too vague. Last year my goals were to run a 5k, 10k, 15k and half marathon! I again was able to reach all those! Plus a bonus 5k race! This year again I am not settling for the same, I have set a 1000 total Kms for the year, and want to run a 5k, 10k, 2x half marathons and hopefully 2x full marathons. Again, those are my minimums, I will most likely add to the races. I want to push myself mentally and physically, and show that you can do whatever you set your mind too! In a perfect world I would PR and BQ on my second full marathon, but I have a lot of work to do before I hit that goal! 

I have been a Christian for basically my whole life, and am a little ashamed to say that I have yet to read the bible in its entirety! So with the guidance of she reads truth, bible in a year plan, I’m going to get it done this year! The goal for me is not to read it to read it, but really to dive in deep and study the word. We’ve also been going through “The Story” at our church, so it’s a great accompaniment too! 

I would say I’m still pretty amateur at blogging and social media, but my goal is to keep plugging away and just grow! It’s not all about the followers ( though I really love and appreciate those who are) but it’s also a great outlet for my runners mind! 

I have never picked a work of the year, but this year I’ve decided to pick one that’s been on my heart, CONTENTMENT!  It’s so easy to get caught up in other people’s lives (real talk friends), to compare what they have, how many followers, likes, features they’ve gotten.  watching other people’s highlight reals can make me feel pretty crappy sometimes, but I have to remember that their stories are not mine! I know Cliche but “you can’t compare your start to someone’s middle”.  I have been blessed with what I’ve been given, I’m going to really work on being happy and thankful for it all! 

I’m working on 1000kms and 1000 written things I am thankful for this year!!! 

In the end the only thing that matters for 2016 is having more Jesus in my life, if I have Him than all the rest will come according to His perfect will for my life! 

If you haven’t read “Make it Happen” by Lara Casey, I suggest you add it to your reading list now! Here is a great print from her: 

  

Leave a Reply

