Friday FIVE

Today I thought I would share some of my favourite movies/documentaries I have watched throughout this training cycle. As I have mentioned before, I did about 90% of my training for this marathon on the treadmill, and I found that having something captivating to watch most definitely made those long runs a lot better!

These are in no particular order, and can all be found on NETFLIX

1.IT’S A GIRL Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 1.25.49 PM

This one was actually though to watch, being a “girl mom”.  Here is a little bit about the film
The film tells the stories of abandoned and trafficked girls, of women who suffer extreme dowry-related violence, of brave mothers fighting to save their daughters’ lives, and of other mothers who would kill for a son. Global experts and grassroots activists put the stories in context and advocate different paths towards change, while collectively lamenting the lack of any truly effective action against this injustice
Find out more about this movie and the cause at itsagirlmovie.com

2. SOMM

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 1.23.03 PM

This film follows four sommeliers  who are attempting to pass the prestigious Master Sommelier exam, a test with one of the lowest pass rates in the world.
It was fascinating to watch them study and practise, and just see how much effort goes into becoming a sommelier.  Just like running marathons, this feat is not simple.

3.COWSPIRACY

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 1.21.20 PM

I don’t even know where to begin with this! I eat meat, I like it. BUT I most certainly care for our environment, and I care for those who are living well below the standard of living.  This docu really opened my eyes to how important environmental sustainability it, and how by cutting out even beef, I can make a differences.

Here is a little bit more on the film:
Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret is a groundbreaking feature-length environmental documentary following intrepid filmmaker Kip Andersen as he uncovers the most destructive industry facing the planet today – and investigates why the world’s leading environmental organizations are too afraid to talk about it.  Animal agriculture is the leading cause of deforestation, water consumption and pollution, is responsible for more greenhouse gases than the transportation industry, and is a primary driver of rainforest destruction, species extinction, habitat loss, topsoil erosion, ocean “dead zones,” and virtually every other environmental ill. Yet it goes on, almost entirely unchallenged.

I would challenge you to watch it, no matter what your take is on the subject.  You can find out more on how to make a change and a difference here.

4. McFARLAND USA

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 1.20.43 PM

Who doesn’t love a good Disney film!! This one follows a track coach in a Latino community.  It is based on a true story, and follows a group of high school students, who are not your typical track stars, and they turn into something great! Heart felt, and based on a true story, this is an underdog story you want to see (or at least I think so).

AND LAST BUT CERTAINLY NOT LEAST
5. THE BARKLEY MARATHONSScreen Shot 2016-04-22 at 1.19.12 PM

If you have not heard, or seen this film run to your nearest TV, IPAD, Computer and get. on. netflix!!!

Seriously though, the Barkley Marathons are nothing short of crazy, and amazing all at the same time. Surely you can get though your treadmill long run watching this.

 

What are some of your must see movies! I am always open to suggestions, I see no end to my treadmill running future!

Have a Great Weekend! And good luck if you will be out there racing!! Check back Monday for my Marathon Recap!!

Leave a Reply

