More than a Runner

When I started this blog, I really wanted to focus on all aspects of my life that are important to me.  Running (fitness), family and most importantly my faith.

While those three things have never changed or left me, I feel as though I have neglected to post about some!

I am currently in a down time with running, while I am doing strength training, and light running, I have really enjoyed letting my body fully recover from the marathon.  I had done a lot of work leading up to my half in February, and I basically did a four week crash training to be ready for my full in April. My body really felt the effects of it, and I promised myself I would take it easy until recovered, and then start onto the next goal, which I will share later.

In March, you may have seen that I travelled to Chicago.  My husband and I, along with an other couple, our Life Group leaders, went down for a couple days of training.  Our church is a host site for the Global Leadership Summit, and I am so excited that I have taken on a lead role as the Promotional Strategist.  This was a huge step out in faith for me!! I am passionate about leadership development, and what the GLS is doing, but I was fearful about being able to do the job, and to do it well.

Willow Creek, which is based just outside of Chicago, is a church, who is really doing the Lord’s work.  It was, and is, incredible to see how God is using them to further His kingdom!

The Global Leadership Summit is just one of the ways they encourage God’s people to make a difference.  It is really two days of building and equipping leaders of today, for tomorrow.  The greatest thing is, is that yes it is a conference founded on God, but it is so applicable to people who may not know, or want to know Him.

Today, as I was getting some work done I came across this:

morethan.JPG

It was the perfect reminder for me today.  I am not who others say I am, I am who God says I am and He says:

I am a child of God
Galatians 3:26

I am God’s Incredible work of art.
Ephesians 2:10

I am totally and completely forgiven.
1 John 1:9

I am created In God’s likeness.
Ephesians 4:24

I am spiritually alive.
Ephesians 2:5

I am a citizen of Heaven.
Philippians 3:20

I am greatly loved.
Romans 5:8

These are all GREAT reminders of how loved I am, and how loved YOU are!! It can often be a hard world, full of judgement, and comparison, and feelings of inferiority.  But we were created to be so much more than that.  And I know I often forget it! So I hope this encourages YOU today! No matter where you are, or what you do, you were created for more!!

Leave a Reply

