Family Vacation=Full Heart

It has been a little while since I have blogged, we went away for a 10 day vacation, and I had limited access to wifi, and really took a much needed break from social media. 

While I did get online once in a while to post on IG or snapchat, I didn’t spend near as much time on it as I do when I am home.  Because of this, I was able to really invest in spending time with my girls and husband, and our extended family, and I was filled so full!  I also read a full book during the week, something I also love doing, but haven’t made much time for lately.  It still amazes me what I can accomplish when I just PUT.THE.PHONE.DOWN!

We made so many great memories, and in the end that is what is most important.

Our kids LOVE the water, and watching them in the pool, brings me so much joy.  They really are little fish who are beyond fearless.  Our oldest is now able to swim the length of the pool without stopping on a wall.  She has had this goal for quite some time, and seeing her be able to finally do it, filled my heart.

img_8217

We also took a trip up to Canyon Lake, it was about a 30 minute drive from the house, and so totally worth the trip.  We were unaware that we needed to purchase a state park pass before we got there, luckily 2 miles up the road was tortilla flat, a neat tourist site, with great Mexican food! After we filled up on lunch we spent a good part of the afternoon at the beach, in the mountains, in the middle of the dessert! Total win in my books.

img_8205

I was also lucky enough to run a virtual 5km run with my sister in law, it was her first “race” and I was so proud of her!! (more on that later)

An other highlight was surprising our girls with a trip to the American Girl Doll store in Scottsdale.  Both girls love playing with dolls, pretending to be mommies, and caring for their “babies”.  I fondly remember playing babies with my sisters, and love that my girls love it too.  The joy that came across both they faces when they saw what store we were heading to was priceless.  We spent some time in the store, looking at the displays, playing and dreaming of what sets the girls would love to get.  We went in with the intention of leaving with nothing, but my dear sweet husband has such a big heart, and is a great gift giver, that both of our girls got to pick out a Mini American Girl

Of course our time wasn’t all rainbows and unicorns, there was often a melt down, or a sisterly fight, but in the end, I choose not to dwell on those moments.  They happen to the best of us, but they shouldn’t define the moments or memories.

Other great moments included, seeing a rattle snake on the road (scary but also pretty cool), taking a trip to ODYSea, the kids love aquariums, and I love hearing the stores of rescued animals (in this case two sea turtles, one had lost 2 limbs from plastic that should not be in the water, and one had a case of “bubble butt”), and having a gecko living on a wall in our house (lots of tears and screams over that one, I may have over reacted and freaked the girls out #momfail).

My heart needed this vacation, the mostly uninterrupted time with family, to pour into them, and them into me. I will say it again, my heart is full.

img_8253

 

Leave a Reply

