Tuesday Truths

Is anyone else already feeling the hustle and bustle preparing for the Christmas season?! My lists are made, I’ve checked them twice and I’m slowly plucking away at it, but today, my body is telling me I need rest! 

I actually dislike being so busy, I crave a slow life, but I am not in that season. One thing I am very much looking forward to is Advent, this year I purchased an advent devotional from Amen Paper Company, you can find it here (there is only a couple more days left to have it delivered in time for the start, so run and get yours). It is a beautiful book, with artwork from the ever talented Lindsay Letters, you will not be disappointed!

screen-shot-2016-11-15-at-4-59-10-pm

I was lucky enough to be able to write and submit an entry for it, while it did not get picked, I wanted to share it with you all before Advent started.

Let it be Quiet

There is a time and a place for quietness. A time when our souls long for silence and guidance.  A time when we are filled with great joy or sorrow that we want to shout it from the roof tops.

In the busyness of life we often push that quiet time away. We shove it to the side for a time when we have less tasks on our to do list, and more time to spare to sit in silence.  But when we think about quietness as one more thing to cross off our list, we are thinking about it all wrong.

We, as children; daughters and sons of Christ, we are created in His image.  God, who created the whole earth, and all that is in it, rested. Not because He needed to, but because He knew WE  would need to; Genesis 2:3. We can imagine, on that day, He sat in silence, listening and watching all that he made, and it was good.

When I think about taking time and being quiet, it stirs up something deep in my soul.  A longing, a desire, a great need for peace and quiet, something that doesn’t happen too often.

I used to be able to sit in silence. Now when life gets quiet, I get nervous.  A nervousness that happens for a couple of reasons. One, because it means a certain toddler is getting into trouble, two, the dogs have snuck off to the neighbours farm, and that third, quietness happens when I’m actually, finally able to sit alone, awkwardly with my own thoughts, waiting and reflecting on what the Lord has put on my heart.

But it shouldn’t be awkward, it should be joy filled. We know that God speaks in whispers, and in those whispers He can use us to share great things.

Matthew 10:27 says: What I tell you in the dark, say in the light, and what you hear whispered, proclaim on the housetops.

While we are constantly being flooded with noise, we need to learn to turn it off.  Turn off your phone, turn off your screen, all that fills us with extra.  We are called to be like Christ, to be in the world, and not of it, Romans 12:2.  When you are being pulled into more, more, more, louder and louder, resist it. Rest in Christ. In His quiet saving grace, it is there you will hear His whispers of love and his tender mercies.  He knows what your soul is longing for, you need not always say it.  He has heard every thought before its even there. He is the only one who can fill that longing. But oh, if we only would sit, and reflect and be quiet.

Psalm 46:10a Be still, and know that I am God.

Leave a Reply

