December Goal Recap

For the month of December I had challenged myself to run 100 Miles.  This was big for me, as I had only run one 100mile month in all of 2016. 

I really wanted to come out and tell you that I did it, I ran 100 miles in December. But alas, I did not. And you know what? I am totally fine with that.

I had some minor set backs, and knew over the holidays it would be really tricky to get all my runs in!

I ended up finishing with 71.20 Miles, a total of 14 runs, which is pretty good for me!

img_9871
6.2 New Years Eve Miles

My biggest accomplishments came from making time and running on Christmas day, as well as a 6 mile run on new years eve! (and 3 miles on new years day) It would have been really easy to make excuses to not run on those days. But the truth is, while the kids and hubby napped, I had time to run, and so I did.

img_9772
3 easy Christmas miles

The purpose, far more than hitting a mile goal, was to get me in the mindset to stop excuses, and just get out there and run.  I know I am capable, and I actually like logging long runs on the treadmill over the winter months.  So really, it was a win.

img_9848
1 mile outside , 7 on the mill

 

The thing about running, more then miles, or speed, is that you are running with your heart. If you are doing it for any other reason, you will most likely dread doing it.

I love this quote:

Screen Shot 2017-01-10 at 4.56.49 PM.png

What keeps you motivated during these winter months? Have you ever missed a goal and been better because of it?

Leave a Reply

