Friday Favourites

If you are following me on Instagram, you’ve probably noticed I spend a lot of my runs on the treadmill, and while you may hear a lot of people call it the dreadmill, I have actually grown to enjoy it. And lucky for you I am going to share some of my favourite ways to make it though a treadmill run!1. MAKE A PLAN:
One of the key things for me is making a plan, before I start my run (like any outside one) know what you are going to do. If you jump on and just wing it, it probably won’t be the greatest!

You can fund tons of speed workout online, Pinterest is always a great place to start, and even just a straight up google search. Here’s one to try, adjust speed as necessary:

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 9.41.52 AM

2. KNOW YOUR SPEED:
The other great thing is that you control the speed of the treadmill, it allows for consistency when training, and not having to guess your speed. Here is a helpful conversion chart, to see the full chat click here:

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 9.53.46 AM

3. GIVE YOURSELF TIME:
As a general rule of thumb, especially on a planned long run, I give myself 3miles to get into it. My pace in those 3 miles will change from warm-up to whatever pace I am working at, but I CAN NOT quit before 3 miles. Those are the most mentally though miles for me, but for some reason, as soon as I cross that mile threshold, I am typically good to go.

4. Pick a show or a podcast to watch:
Why not catch up on your favourite show, or listen to some inspirational podcasts! It helps make the time pass so much faster!

5. Have your hydration and nutrition ready!
My cupholders are storage spots for all my gear, headphones, towel to wipe off sweat, and nutrition, and backup nutrition. For long runs, I often start with gels at 30mins, and then every 20-25mins. Everyone will fuel differently, so listen to your body. I tend to need it earlier, and so I get it in before I start feeling faint or dizzy (true story, happens to me. all. the.time. hence why I am constantly eating all the food). Find what works and stick with it!

Here are my favourites:

And that is how I make it through! I know that the harder I work on the treadmill, the better my mental game will be, and because I don’t always have time to make it outside and run, I’ve got to get them in somehow! Being a #motherrunner means you have to be adaptable, and flexible, I never know how my day will end up going, and if there will be naps or not. So go with the flow friends, and remember “nevertheless she persisted!”

Are you a treadmill runner? If so how do you make it through your runs?

Leave a Reply

